About the Lord Mayor’s Awards 2014 and pictures from the night…

The Lord Mayor of Dublin, Oisín Quinn, hosted the 2014 Lord Mayor’s Awards in the Round Room of the Mansion House, Dawson Street, on Tuesday, 4th February, 2014.

Since 1989, this annual award ceremony has honoured individuals and groups who have made a special contribution to Dublin. It is an opportunity for the Lord Mayor, on behalf of the citizens of Dublin, to express gratitude to people and organisations that make a difference to the life of the City.

Lord Mayor Oisín Quinn said “This year I have chosen to give Lord Mayor’s Awards to three individuals and three groups in the areas of technology, arts, sport, youth, community and social justice.  One of the Awards tonight is a new Award, The Frederick Douglas Award, to acknowledge the contribution of someone who has come to live in Dublin and has made a significant impact on the city. Dil Wickremasinghe is the recipient of the inaugural Frederick Douglas Award.  All the recipients, both individuals and organisations, have made special contributions to the city of Dublin and I’m honoured to be able to recognise them here tonight”.

The Lord Mayor’s Award 2014 recipients are Paddy Cosgrave, Ranelagh Arts Festival, Jim Gavin, One Young World Bid Committee, St. Andrew’s Resource Centre and Dil Wickremasinghe.


LMA Signing

Dil officially signing the Lord Mayors Award register

LMA LM on stage

Lord Mayor Councillor Oisín Quinn presenting the Frederick Douglas Award to Dil Wickremasinghe.

LMA Speech

Dil making her acceptance speech…

Mayors Awards

Lord Mayor Councillor Oisín Quinn with Dil and Anne Marie

Mayors Awards

Dil and Anne Marie in the Oak Room

Mayors Awards

Dil and Anne Marie lost in each others eyes!

Mayors Awards

Lord Mayor Councillor Oisín Quinn with the recipients of the Lord Mayors Awards 2014 –

Jim Gavin, Paddy Cosgrave, Dil Wickremasinghe,
Bob Coggins and Clara Kelleher of One Young World, the Ranelagh Arts Festival and St Andrew’s Resource Centre.

LMA Crystal

 The Frederick Douglas Award